Membuat Polite Request


Asking for permission

Asking Saying Yes/OK Saying No
Can I ..? Yes, Sure. Well, i’m afraid (+reason) ..
Could I .. ? Yes, of course
Is it all right if I.. ? That’s fine
Do You Mind if I + Verb 1 ? No/No, not at all /Not at all/Of course not/No, I’d be happy to/
No at all, I’d be glad to
Sorry, but..
Would you mind if I..? verb 2

Making Request

Asking Saying Yes/OK Saying No
Can You..? Yes, Sure. Well, i’m afraid (+reason) ..
Could You .. ? Yes, of course
Is it all right if I.. ? That’s fine
Do You think you could ..? Certainly Well, the problem is that..
Will you..? Sorry, but..
Do you mind -ing No/No, not at all /Not at all/Of course not/No, I’d be happy to/
No at all, I’d be glad to
Would you mind -ing

Ingat!
1. Could/ Would you ? lebih sopan dibandingkan Can/ Will you.

2. Would you mind..? dan Do you mind..? berarti apakah masalah buat kamu? jadi jawaban yang sopan adalah “No, not at all atau Of course not”

3. Kita dapat menggunakan “Do you mind…?” untuk menanyakan pendapat atau perasaan seseorang. “Would you mind…?” tidak digunakan untuk tujuan ini.

contoh : Do you mind people smoking in public places? / Do you mind if people smoke in public places?

(bukan  “Would you mind people smoking in public places?”)

4. “Would you mind” diikuti oleh gerund.

contoh: Would you mind closing the door ?..

I don’t want to cause you any trouble, but would
You please close the door?
Would that cause you any inconvenience?

– Would you mind not smoking inside?

– “Would you please explain this to me?”  mempunyai arti :
If you don’t mind, please explain this to me?

5. Would you mind + IF + I + V2

– “Would you mind if I” is followed by the simple past.

contoh : – Would you mind if I closed the door? (Formal)

pertanyaan diatas mempunyai arti :

May I close the door?
Is it all right if I close the door?
Will it cause you any trouble or discomfort if I close the door?

Leave a Reply

